Americanah

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Rating: 5 stars

I read Half of a Yellow Sun by Adichie about a year ago and thought it was amazing.  Same for her TEDx talk “We Should All be Feminists.”  This has been on my list for a while but it took until now for me to get to it.  I sincerely regret that, because it is now one of my favorite books.

Wow.  This book was amazing.  I loved every part of it.  Ifemelu is one of my favorite protagonists in recent fiction.  She’s tough, strong, intelligent, unafraid, unsure, and flawed.  In other words, perfectly human and an incredibly realized character

The author makes spot-on observations on Ifemelu’s adjustment to America and her reactions to both the subtle and overt racism that exists today.  I wish Ifemelu’s blog was real, as the blog posts we saw in the book ranged from heartbreakingly true to hilarious and left me wanting to read more.

I know there is also a love story in the book between Ifemelu and Obinze, but it was secondary to their experiences both in American and England and returning to Nigeria after their time abroad.  I love that their relationship took a back seat as you saw them grow and search a place, any place, where they could feel like they belonged.

1 thought on “Americanah”

Leave a Reply

