Books I’m Excited About

Even though my current ‘to-read’ pile is 15 books deep and growing, I keep looking for new titles.  Here’s a quick list of 6 books I can’t wait to read once they’re released.

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah (April 4)

  • I love stories that focus on relationships, whether romantic or between families or friends, so this short story collection is high on my list.

The Leavers by Lisa Ko (May 2)

  • This debut novel, winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for fiction, tells the story of a young boy who loses his mother and is then pressured to lose his identity when his adoptive parents want an “all-American boy.” Any story about coming of age while struggling with identity and loss should be a good, if devastating, read.

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (May 2)

  • I loved The Girl on the Train and can’t wait for Hawkins’ next mystery.

Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan (May 23)

  • Crazy Rich Asians was hilarious.  I wasn’t a fan of China Rich Girlfriend, but hopefully Kwan’s third book in this series will make up for it.

Live from Cairo by Ian Bassingthwaighte (July 11)

  • A novel that centers on the lives of an attorney, an Iraqi refugee, a translator, and an Iraqi-American resettlement officer in 2011 Cairo promises to be an exhilarating and vibrant read.

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley (August 1)

  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street was an enchanting story that weaved through Victorian London and Japan following a clairvoyant watchmaker and his mechanical octopus.  If Pulley’s next work comes anywhere close to her magical debut novel, I have to read it.

 

Any others I should add to my list?

2 thoughts on “Books I’m Excited About”

Leave a Reply

