Books Read in April

Ending the month with a summary of the books I read in April:

Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi.  Rating: 3.5 stars, review

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia by Mohsin Hamid. Rating: 3.5 stars

Startup by Doree Shafrir. Rating: 4.5 stars, review

The Futures by Anna Pitoniak. Rating: 3.5 stars

A Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin. Rating: 4.5 stars, review

American Housewife by Helen Ellis. Rating: 4 stars

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. Rating: 4.5 stars, review

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace.  Rating: 3.5 stars, review

The Unfinished World: And Other Stories by Amber Sparks.  Rating: 4 stars

American War by Omar El Akkad. Rating: 4.5 stars, review

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See.  Rating: 3.5 stars

Feminist Fight Club: An Office Survival Manual for a Sexist Workplace by Jessica Bennett.  Rating: 4 stars, review

It Happens All the Time by Amy Hatvany.  Rating: 3 stars

If anyone has questions or thoughts on any of the books I haven’t reviewed yet, feel free to comment!

2 thoughts on “Books Read in April”

  1. You had such a productive reading month!! That’s awesome!

    What were your thoughts about Tea Girl? I liked it a lot – I definitely learned a ton about Akha culture and it was a nice story. But I’ve read a lot of See before and I don’t think her prose was nearly as solid here as it has the potential to be. I thought the whole thing could have done with a bit more editing, but ultimately I was decently satisfied.

    And I’m glad you enjoyed American War – that was my BOTM pick last month and I still need to get around to it. Looking forward to it!

    Like

  2. To be fair, Milk and Honey and The Princess Saves Herself in this One were both short poetry collections that only took a couple hours to finish.

    I liked Tea Girl, and you’re right that you learn a lot about Akha culture and tea. However, I felt like sometimes it read more like a bunch of facts than a story. I also wish we could have seen more of the daughter’s experiences growing up, rather than just the emails and transcripts. Overall, though, it was an enjoyable read.

    American War was my BOTM too! I think you’ll like it. I know it’s clear from the title and the Judge’s review, but it is a depressing book (it hit me more than I thought it would). Be prepared for that, but it is a great read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

