Theft by Finding

Theft by Finding by David Sedaris
Rating: 4.5 stars
ARC, Available May 30th

I was lucky enough to win an early copy of Theft by Finding, and it was the perfect book to have during a family visit (which is also why I haven’t posted anything recently).

I have to admit that I have only read one of David Sedaris’s books, Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls. It was a great essay collection, and I laughed out loud at during parts.

The format of this book intrigued me. I loved the thought of looking at someones diary.  I am an extremely nosy person.  I am that person on the bus who tries to see what the person in front of me is reading.  I will look at the tabs on someones computer when they ask me to look at something on a site.  I am way too nosy for my own good.  While I have never read someone’s diary before, I cannot say with 100% confidence that I would not if the opportunity arose. The great thing about this book is that it lets you be nosy and poke around in someones life without the guilt.

The first ten years in the book fly by but give you a good glance into the state of his life them.  Sedaris faced the universal struggle of having no clue what to do with is life but still wanting something more.  What 20-something hasn’t had that crisis?  Neil the cat seemed to be a great companion to have during those time, though.

I loved how goddamn relatable Sedaris is throughout his life.  When he gets his first real job as a professor, his first thoughts are about how he isn’t qualified.  He’s worried he will quickly be found out because he has no idea what he’s doing, which is what I always feel when starting a new job (or even after I’ve been there a while).  There’s always a small part of me that feels like I’m pulling a fast one whenever people think I’m competent.

This book is a reflection of his life at various times from 1977 to 2002, so the entries vary greatly depending on his mood, his location, his job security, even how packed his favorite IHOPs were.  They reflect the full spectrum of life.  Some entries are depressing, some hilarious, others downright mundane.

I just wish we could have read some of his essays for French class.  The summaries he gives sound amazing.  Could he publish a separate book of just those essays?  I would be first in line to buy it.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who’s already a David Sedaris fan or someone who wants to read the hilarious, weird thoughts of an incredibly relatable author.  Or anyone who may want to sneak a peak in someone’s diary.  I won’t judge.

1 thought on “Theft by Finding”

Leave a Reply

