The Man Booker Prize 2017 Longlist

The longlist for the 2017 Man Booker Prize was just announced on Thursday, and it looks like an excellent group of books.

I’ve read four of these already, and once the shortlist is announced in September I will try to read all six before the winner is announced in October.

Below are the 13 selections from the Man Booker Prize announcement:

The four I’ve read are Exit West, Autumn, Swing Time, and The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness.  Of those four, I think either Exit West or Autumn should win.  Exit West because it’s a timely and heartbreakingly beautiful description of the migrant and refugee experience, and Autumn because I love Ali Smith and her creative storytelling (How to be Both is one of my favorite books).  

The Underground Railroad is one I haven’t read yet but really want to.  I will have to make an effort to move it up in my TBR pile.

What do you guys think of this list?  Any books you’ve read, think should win, should/shouldn’t be on the longlist?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

